Corporation of Greater Winnipeg, were amalgamated into a single city in January 1972.

Saskatchewan has 12 cities, 142 towns, 352 villages (including 10 northern villages), 13 northern hamlets and 299 rural municipalities. Administration of the 10 settlements in the northern part of the province is provided by the province with the advice of local advisory committees.

Regina, the capital, is the largest city in Saskatchewan, and Saskatoon is second.

Alberta has 11 cities, 111 towns, 162 villages, 18 municipal districts and 30 counties. The counties administer schools in addition to municipal services. There are 19 improvement districts and one special area administered by the Special Areas Board.

Edmonton, the capital, was incorporated in 1904. Calgary was founded in 1875 by the mounted police and incorporated as a city in 1893.

British Columbia. In 1967, the government of British Columbia instituted regional government. By January 1972, 28 regional districts had been established. These regional districts are assuming

responsibility for certain services from municipalities within their boundaries as well as providing services to previously unorganized areas. There are 35 cities, 13 towns, 48 villages and 46 districts. Districts are mostly rural although some adjacent to the principal cities of Vancouver and Victoria are largely urban in character. Unincorporated local districts have been set up to provide certain municipal services.

Victoria, the capital, on the southeastern tip of Vancouver Island, was incorporated in 1862. The largest city, Vancouver, was incorporated in 1886.

Yukon. There are two cities, one town and five local improvement districts. The local improvement districts, although incorporated, are developmental forms of local government. Whitehorse became the capital in April 1953 when the seat of government was moved from Dawson City.

Northwest Territories includes one city, five towns, one village, 26 hamlets and 16 settlements. The hamlets, although incorporated, are developmental forms of local government. Yellowknife on the north arm of Great Slave Lake was named the capital in 1967.

Sources

19.1 - 19.4 Policy and Management Secretariat, Privy Council Office; English Journals Branch, House of Commons;

Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel of the Senate; Office of the Chief Electoral Officer.

19.5.1 Communications Division, Treasury Board; Public Affairs Directorate, Public Service Commission;

Communications Division, Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

19.5.2 Policy and Management Secretariat, Privy Council Office.

19.5.3 Communications Division, Treasury Board.

19.6 Provincial and territorial governments.

19.7 Public Institutions Division, Statistics Canada; provincial and territorial governments.

Selected references

A consolidation of the Constitution Acts 1867 to 1982. Department of Justice Canada, Ottawa, consolidated as of April 17, 1982.

How Canadians govern themselves. Eugene A. Forsey, Publications Canada, Ottawa, 1982. The Charter of Rights and Freedoms - a guide for Canadians. Publications Canada, Ottawa, 1982. The Constitution and you, Publications Canada, Ottawa, 1982.